Posted by: dsduffy | October 20, 2009

This one’s for you, mom


I just looked at the calendar and it reads “October 20.” This means that it is LESS THAN TWO MONTHS UNTIL WE TRAVEL HOME.

I REPEAT: IN LESS THAN TWO MONTHS WE WILL BE GOING HOME FOR OUR FIRST VISIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(Can you tell I’m a bit excited?) I’m thinking I won’t even notice the jetlag because I’ll be so pumped up seeing everyone and everyTHING! The restaurants, the stores, the people! (normal hairstyles, normal clothes – it will be nice to see NORMAL)

Happy __ Birthday to my sister, my “second mother”, my best friend in the whole entire world. I’ll stop there, we’ll save our tears for when we see each in LESS THAN TWO MONTHS!

Craig’s mom (Grammy) arrived for a visit on Friday and it has been great! The best was when I went to pick her up from the airport, I had Cameron with me (he was supposed to be in school). When we saw her come out from the customs door, he yelled “Grammy!” and ran to give her the biggest hug. It was so sweet to see how happy he was.  The boys are eating up all the extra attention and we love having her here. Another bonus – the weather is awesome! I hope this means that Spring is here to stay. Since we will be missing almost 2 months of the summer here, I’m going to try to enjoy all the outside time I possibly can.

Responses

  1. 2 months, I can’t wait!! Thanks for the special birthday wishes and for saving the tears for when we see each other, they will be tears of joy! Love ya!

  2. I needed this blog. Talking about when you are coming home is exciting, but seeing it in writing is unbelieveable. So happy Grammy is there with you now. It’s a big connection to home. The countdown for your trip to America has officially begun. ;0)

  3. Hi!
    I stumbled across your blog and have read the entire contents in 2 days! Love it! I’m a native Melbourne girl and it has been so interesting seeing it through your eyes! You have such a natural, beautiful way of writing that completely took me in. I can only imagine how hard it would be, missing your family. My husband and I travel and I am always missing my family and my dog after the 2nd day! The longest time I have been away was 6 weeks and that was long enough! I hope you and your family enjoy your time here and I know I will continue to follow this blog!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

