Posted by: dsduffy | October 7, 2009

Thank-Yous


To whoever decided it was a good idea to domesticate animals: having our 2 cats here with us just makes our family complete. Even though we have been dealing with PJ’s health lately, they brighten our day and put a smile on our faces. I especially love it when I find one of the boys petting them or “talking”  to them, Cameron seems to understand exactly what PJ is saying when he meows.

To the National Geographic channel on television: I never was much of a science girl, but lately I have loved watching shows with the boys about volcanos, dinosaurs, space, ships and skyscrapers. I just love learning things along with them.

To Google, Wikipedia and the internet in general: for answers to questions I just don’t have. Thank you. What did our parents do without resources like that?

To the powers-that-be: for making sure my friend’s pre-term baby is safe and healthy. Thank you thank you thank you.

To my friends and family that call, email and keep in touch with us: you know who you are and it means more than you could ever know when anyone reaches out to us. I know we are the ones that moved clear across the planet, and I guess I should make more of  an effort  to call, but when the red phone rings and it isn’t a telemarketer, it makes my day!

To my fellow expats, bloggers and real-life down under friends:  for listening to all my complaints, comparisons and questions, and for making me feel so not-alone in this adventure.

To Ben & Jerry’s: for bringing your delicious ice cream all the way to Australia. Although it is not yet in Melbourne, I hear it has made it to Sydney. I cannot wait to inhale an entire pint the first day I see it in the freezer at Coles, and I am not kidding – I will be eating directly from that container of “Coffee Heath Bar Crunch” for dinner that night.

To Melbourne Australia: for making us feel at home here, and for making this such a great place to live.

Responses

  1. Thank you for sharing your experience. It helps to know you are out there wondering around Melbourne too.

  2. Thank YOU for taking all of us along with you on your journey to the other side of the world. It is become our journey too. Life is wonderful when you have your eyes & heart open. Creating beautiful memories is what it’s all about. ;0)

  3. You are so lucky to have the internet as a resource! I had to use the good old encyclopedia to answer all of Jay & Craig’s questions and there were many. Thanks for making the “red phone” ring this way tonight …. it was great speaking with you! Love you all!

  4. What a lovely post. I too love our cat. She is the perfect little thing to snuggle with on the couch when you are feeling under the weather.

    Thanksgiving is just around the corner and we are looking forward to celebrate it with our US ex pat friends. We have been doing it every year since we moved to Melbourne. What a great excuse to make the trip to US foods in Bentleigh to grab some cans of pumpkin and cranberry sauce! Of course and few other family favourites 😉

  5. Our U.S. phone (Vonage) is red, too. How funny. It is so nice to keep in touch with friends and family who are so far away.


Leave a Reply

Categories

