Posted by: dsduffy | September 28, 2009

Disclaimer


I was guilty of thinking people who took on accents of foreign countries, or even other parts of their own country were pretentious.  While living in Salisbury Maryland for 4 years, I may have said “y’all” a handful of times, but it never became part of my everyday vocabulary. When Madonna all of a sudden had a British accent I thought “who does she think she is?” But now I see why it happens. I have lived in Australia for over a year now, and these words just have a way of making their way into my conversations. It could also be because of the kids, and the words they say, I don’t want to completely confuse them. After a few months of spending 2 days a week at daycare, Jake switched from saying “diapers” to “nappies” all on his own. So now I say “nappies” just to make things easier. We have some hybrid words like  “trash bin” instead of “rubbish bin” whereas we used to say “trash can” and I find myself going back and forth from “trolley” to “cart” I just can’t make up my mind on that one.

So this is my disclaimer: when we go back to the States in December, bear with me. I don’t want to completely confuse my kids by switching back to “American English” I want to keep some things consistent for them. I can’t help it if I say “sorted”, “heaps”, “massive” and ask you “how did you go.” I am not trying to look cool or anything, trust me. It was hard enough to get used to all these new words when we moved here and constantly think about what I am saying, it will be interesting to see how it is the other way around.

(funny, I just did spell check and it did not recognize “nappies” or “bin” haha!)

Responses

  1. They will giggle!! Wait till the first time though that one says back to you, sure when you ring…..and they say “did I say ring?” a new word my friends learned from me!

  2. American-english, aussie-english, potAto, pOtatO, we just want to see you and your family!!

  3. I agree with Patti! We just want to see you!!! And I suspect you’ll slip right back to American English once you’re here!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

