Posted by: dsduffy | August 26, 2009

The mind of a 4 3/4 year old


Oh the questions! While driving past a cemetery the other day, Cameron said “Mom, look! A stone garden!” (that is what I had told him it was about a year ago in order to buy myself some time.) Then he went on with questions about why it is a stone garden, what is it for, etc etc. I said, “Do you really want to know what’s in there? Are you ready for this?” he replied “Yea.” I told  him in the simplest terms about what was really in this so-called stone garden and his reply was “So mom, you’re going to turn to a stone when you die?”

In the car yesterday, out of the blue, I caught a glimpse of his face in the rear view mirror and he looked sad. I asked him “What’s wrong sweetie?” He continued to look out the window and said “I wanna go back to Massachusetts.” I answered him “We are going to go back for a visit right after your birthday, won’t that be great?” Still with sadness in his voice, he told me, “I don’t want to go for a visit, I want to live there. I miss my friends.”

I went on about how I miss everyone too, and about the positive aspects of living in Australia (the beach! all your new friends! the kangaroos! I might have even thrown in fairy bread as a selling point.) Then he started in about missing snow and how he wants it to snow in Australia. Poor guy, he  just wants to make a snowman and hang with his friends in New England.

I am pretty sure this is all normal. But I figure that after living here for just about a year he would feel like this was home and kind of “forget” about our previous life, but that isn’t so. Thankfully we have less than 4 months left until our first visit back home.

Responses

  1. It will be interesting to see his perceptive after you return back from your trip home. Hard for a mama to hear those little words.

  2. Breaks my heart, but I’ll bet it was just a passing “sad moment”. Maybe some kid at school said something unkind to him that day or maybe he was thinking about snow because his Daddy was going snowboarding.

  3. Danielle–I like the “stone garden” description. Harrison has asked me a few times what it is and I never know what to say. I just say the gravestones are really big rocks with words on them. How do you explain this to a 3 year old?!


Leave a Reply

Categories

