Posted by: dsduffy | August 19, 2009

Yet another list


Things I still miss about America: (besides the obvious family & friends)

Tv shows! I keep hearing all about Big Brother, oh how I wish I could be in on the drama…And the fact that the episodes of The Young & the Restless are from over 6 months ago, I just realized it when they were celebrating Valentine’s Day…RECENT episodes of anything…

The deli counter at the grocery store.

Drive-thru ATM machines.

Old Navy. The Gap. Children’s Place. The Wrentham Outlets. Victoria’s Secret. The real Target, heck even Wal-mart.

Water with ice.

Normal parking lots. Without cement pillars.

Bed Bath & Beyond.

Pay-at-the-pump Gas Stations.

Wheat Thins.

The concept of coupons.

Things I don’t miss about America: 

High Fructose Corn Syrup.

Constant reports of gun violence.

I can’t think of anything else.

Fast forward 1 or 2 years:

–Insert list of Things I miss about Australia here–

Responses

  1. Have you found something similar to your very favorite “American Cheese” yet?

  2. Oooohhh, how I miss the Wrentham Outlets too!! This is a very interesting list!! Feeling guilty taking many of the items on your list for granted, wish I could send them to you or shop with you!

  3. Great list- I feel the same. But my list would also have Costco on it. 🙂
    Really, the parking lot thing is a big one. Why oh why do they have those pillars in EVERY parking lot?

  4. What about paying for your gas at the pump? I still can not bring myself to leave the kids in car, nope I drag everybody in. I see all the Aussies leaving the kids in the car, though.

  5. Intriguing list… suspect the pillar in carlot thing might be an engineering issue? Also great test of your driving ability… heh.

    This Aussie doesn’t leave kids in car at petrol station (OK occasionally at our one-horse town, but certainly not in the big smoke!). But I do miss the pay at the pump option…

    And as for the TV… well, try watching Top Gear on SBS (even if you aren’t into cars, the funniest show on the box)!!
    🙂
    BB

  6. My first experience with a drive through ATM/bank teller was hilarious! Now I don’t know how I live without it. That was one thing I got used to very quickly.

    Totally with you on the shopping. I miss Old Navy, Gap and my trusty Walmart. My 24 hour Walmart saved my rear end on one too many occasions!


Leave a Reply

Categories

