Posted by: dsduffy | August 14, 2009

Full Circle


Today was a day like any other and it dawned on me that tomorrow is our “anniversary” of moving here. 11 months to be exact (not that I am counting, but I constantly get asked by people how long we have lived here, so I always know.) And today I met 2 “newbies” to the country. One woman just moved here last month from France, with 2 kids and a third on the way. She was buying a travel high chair I had listed online. She reminded me of myself, just 10 months ago, trying to get everything I needed, feeling so out of my comfort zone, but it must be harder for her to speak another language. She was sweet and I stopped myself from offering to befriend her, I always want to help people, but for some reason I just let her be, to find her own way.

Then when I was picking up Jake from school, one of the “casual” teachers (they fill-in any class that is short a teacher) she must have heard me talking and her eyes lit up as she said “Are you from America?” (See, I’m not the only one who says “America” vs “the States”) So we immediately got to talking, she has only been here for 3 months, this also reminded me of that feeling of finding my way and feeling like such a stranger in a strangeland. Which brings me to my point: I do not feel like a stranger much any more. Yes there are times I don’t understand a certain word but I really feel comfortable here, we have a great routine, and everything just feels normal.

Next month we will celebrate our 1 year anniversary down under: a year full of change, adaptation, confusion, frustration, adventure & of stepping outside of our comfort zone, to find that taking a chance and doing something that sounds totally crazy – was so worth it.

Responses

  1. I love that you wanted to befriend the french woman, and let her be. I am finding this the hardest part, many people invite our family for lunch or want to meet for tea. I want to simply say I just not ready yet. My boy is having a hard time, our stuff is still sitting on a boat, and I am just trying to find a routine. So sweet of you to think of her needs.

  2. Congrats on your anniversary. Can’t believe it’s been nearly a year since you arrived. Time goes by so quickly. Glad to hear you all are doing so well! =)

  3. Congratulations on your family’s one year anniversary! So glad to know that you have found a home in Australia. It is a great feeling once you get there.

  4. Glad that you’re now feeling all “settled in”. It was a huge undertaking to move your family & home 10,000 miles away! I’m so happy that you’re now totally comfortable and thoroughly enjoying your adventure in the beautiful Land of Oz. It comforts me, too, knowing that you are happy & in a wonderful place! Love to you all!

  5. I just realized that this “anniversary” also means that I have managed to keep your plants alive for one year!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

