Posted by: dsduffy | May 14, 2009

A measure of time


I hate goodbyes. Craig was the one who met our “first friends” here. He met the husband at an Open House and realized they were both relocating here and had similar stories. They exchanged a few emails and finally we met at a cafe in our town just a few weeks after arriving. I was so excited to be meeting someone else who was in the same situation as me. They arrived in Melbourne exactly the same day as we did, had 2 sons, each one 6 months younger than mine. And we hit it off right away. Our kids played well, we even spent Christmas & New Year’s Eve together. We met at the beach sharing sand toys and fruit, spent our “days off” together, lunching and shopping, enjoying our limited time together. We knew it would not last forever, as nothing does, but there was an expiration date looming in the future. Her husband’s project got extended and they were able to stay 3 more months – we rejoiced! But the time has come and she and her family leave next week. Tonight a group of us are going out for our last Girl’s Night Out, at least in Melbourne. She is moving to Canada, so I know we will be able to see each other again, but not for awhile.

This has made me realize that I’ve been here long enough to make a friend and already have to say goodbye.

Responses

  1. You and Craig have met so many wonderful people/couples in your lives. People that become friends for life. It seems that “goodbye” isn’t something that happens for you, it’s just “see you again, keep in touch, let me know if you need anything” etc. You make as big an impact and impression on others as they make on you. No such thing as “out of sight, out of mind” for you or Craig. That’s what makes you both so very special. You truly have friends all over the world!

  2. Hi! I found your blog under the Expat Women web site. I, too, am an American living in Australia (we’re in Adelaide and here for 3 years for hubby’s work) and could definately relate to your post about making friends & goodbyes. I am already dreading the goodbyes when we leave in 2 years. On the flip side, I couldn’t imagine not coming to Australia and never knowing the great people that I do. It’s very bittersweet.

  3. It’s a strange thing to know you’re living somewhere temporarily. I want to feel “settled in” but don’t really want to put down deep roots. I hope I am able to develop close friendships like the ones you describe, even if it means saying good-bye to them when it’s time to go “home”.

    • Exactly! And a lot of friends back home will ask things like “are you ready to come home, are you totally homesick” etc…I try so hard to just live in the moment, and enjoy my time here opposed to wishing it away.
      The “settled” feeling comes and goes. Sometimes I can’t believe I am living here, and other times, I can’t imagine having to leave.


Leave a Reply

Categories

