Posted by: dsduffy | April 2, 2009

Check out our latest ride


Ford G6

Ford G6

Oh yea, we are rockin’ the Ford G6….what is a G6 you ask? I don’t know myself, but it is a pretty cool car considering I haven’t driven an actual 4 door sedan for a good 8-10 years. When we first arrived at the Melbourne International Airport on September 15, 2008, we headed right for the Avis office and picked up our first vehicle, the Toyota Tarago (think Sienna but not really). We justified getting the MV (minivan) to transport our family of 4 and 8 pieces of luggage to our house, and then kept it, having more “reasons”: trips to IKEA, weekend getaways with lots of gear, family visits. Fast forward 6 months, and we were already on our 3rd MV. The first one had a broken sliding door, which would hit me in the side everytime I put Jake in the car. The second one had a bad experience with a cement wall, and the last one we just traded in for our new fancy Ford.

I was nervous about being able to fit in a 4 door sedan. I mean, I’m an American stay at home mom, don’t I need an SUV or MV? Isn’t it a requirement for my job? How will I be able to fit groceries, a stroller, 2 carseats, snacks, toys, etc etc etc in a car??? So far it is OK. It has been less than 48 hours and I have to admit there is enough room. The one thing I miss though? Those ingenious sliding rear doors. Man, do they come in handy.

Responses

  1. Well, on the plus side, it should be easier to get into and out of those tiny Aussie parking spaces when driving a sedan. After only 3 weeks, my SUV already has a few bumps and bruises from parking mishaps!


Leave a Reply

Categories

