Posted by: dsduffy | March 18, 2009

And now back to our regularly scheduled programming.


Tasmania in a word: BEAUTIFUL. Sounding like a broken record, I found myself saying “I’ve never seen anything like this in my entire life!” and “This is something else” over and over again. All the worries about travelling with our 2 young boys, were soon forgotten as they played in the sand and searched endlessly for the tiniest shell in the world, or for seaglass. Another common sentence that came out of my mouth over the 7 days “who needs toys when you have rocks.” The beauty we saw was something I never imagined I would see with my own two eyes. For example:

The totem pole. Eco-Cruise, Tasmania AU

The totem pole. Eco-Cruise, Tasmania AU

Yea, so that is the kind of stuff that took my breath away. And made me so excited about seeing new things. I mean, how can a place like this exist, I want to be able to see the world, to share it with my children and really experience how wonderful this place we call home really is.
We get used to our surroundings, take things for granted, everyday beauty passes right by us. It takes seeing things like this: 

Wineglass Bay, Tasmania AU

Wineglass Bay, Tasmania AU

Never in my life had I thought about the world like I did over the past week. The beauty in nature (sorry for getting all granola on you here) but it just happened. To just enjoy my surroundings, take it all in and just be in awe of the world.

I might be able to be more detailed in another post, but for now this is all I can do. I am overloaded with pictures and thoughts and laundry.

Responses

  1. Gorgeous! Can’t wait to see even more pics!
    🙂

  2. Wonderful post. I’m so glad you had such a fantastic time. Tasmania is a place I’ve always wanted to visit. I only fear that if I go there to visit I won’t want to go home to Sydney!! Look forward to seeing more photos of your time there!!

  3. Lucky girl! Have spent 10 years in Australia and have never been to Tassie. We always head up to sunny Queensland. Need to rethink that.

  4. How beautiful! I’d love some details– where did you stay, etc. I’d love to plan a trip there.. maybe even for school break in a few weeks?


Leave a Reply

Categories

