Posted by: dsduffy | March 5, 2009

Ex-pat Cats*


PJ & Zoe made it! I swear they have travelled more than any domestic cat in such a short time. Starting in August, they took a car ride home with our good friends in NJ, were then picked up by the Transport company and taken to Albany, where they stayed until this past weekend. They were then driven back up to Boston – to Logan Airport and off they went. From Boston, they went to LA and then straight on to Melbourne. What a trip! We spoke to an agent at the quarantine station who said they arrived, and seem to be fine. I’m not sure if I want to visit them there, it may be too upsetting. I am hoping the next 30 days go quickly!

 I can’t wait to see them again, and I know Cameron is excited too. I’m sure it will take a little bit for them to get acclimated.

On a side note: I know there are people thinking we should have just given them away instead of bringing them with us. That was just not an option for me: PJ was my first pet (as my own) and I have had him since 1995, Zoe is such a sweetie and just makes me smile. They are part of our family.

(* term coined by my mom, perfect title – thanks lady!)

Responses

  1. Awesome! I’m thrilled for you! I completely understand you bringing them over. I could never move back to the US without taking our dogs. I know everyone’s situation is different, but it wouldn’t be an option for us not to take them. Like you, mine are part of my family. Glad they made it safely! 🙂

  2. YAY! Glad they made it!

  3. They are a part of your family – of course you would want them with you!!

  4. Now that’s love!! I can’t wait to hear about your reunion when you finally pick them up! I totally understand your feelings now that we have Nigel in our lives, even though he does not live in my house, I love him, he is part of our family and I even let him sleep at the foot of my bed when we dog sit. 🙂 Send photos when you bring them “home” to your life in AU. XOXO to PJ & Zoe

  5. My Dad thought they were staying with him.

  6. I love Lexi’s comment! Who would suggest ever giving the cats away?! The only people who could possibly suggest this is non-animal loving people. I am totally on board with you…of course the pets come with you! They are your 4-legged children!

  7. Yay! So glad to hear they made it to Melbourne. They really have had a very long journey. I am sure they will so excited to see you guys again! May the next month go quickly…

  8. We’re thrilled to know they made it safely!

  9. Well, I bet you never thought you’d see me here! Hi Danielle (and the rest of the Duffy’s)!

    I am thrilled to read that PJ and Zoe will be there with you in just a few days! Wow, the time has gone by and the last of the family will finally be there. I have been living vicariously through you and have really been enjoying everything you have written.

    They will be so happy to see all of you! Take lots of pictures, I miss seeing them!

    Take care, enjoy your lives.

    Jeanne


Leave a Reply

Categories

