Posted by: dsduffy | February 17, 2009

A new normal


I am glad that it happened, and in only 5 months, but I can honestly say that living here feels normal now. I think if we went back to America tomorrow, it would be so weird. It would feel good, don’t get me wrong, but it would be strange; like running your tongue over  your teeth after you get your braces off, familiar but new. Seeing New Jersey 0r Massachusetts license plates, the “real” Target, pay-at-the-pump gas stations and Chili’s would be such welcome sights. (What I would give for fajitas from Chili’s now…you have no idea.) But at the same time, we are so used to our life here, and our routine. I guess that is true for anyone, but I didn’t think it would be so easy to fall into a new groove, and to finally feel comfortable in such a faraway place.

Having our first visitors arrive will bring a taste of home here for us. To see familiar faces again, family to be with, and to show everything to, it is all very exciting. I will make a conscious effort to enjoy our time with them, as I know it will go fast, and who knows how long it will be until either we go home or welcome more guests.

Responses

  1. I’m so glad you are feeling normal here. I feel the same. It is an odd feeling when I go “home”. It is HOME and I love it there, but when I am in the US I now tend to look forward to coming “home” to Australia and to my normal routine. I suppose I’m learning that home is where your heart is and in your case your heart is with your family and you can make a “home” anywhere you go. 🙂 Glad you are getting visitors too! Mine arrives in 5 weeks! 🙂

  2. You’ve got a visitor coming? That is the best! Have a great time!

  3. Hi there! I was so excited when I came across your blog. My husband has been working in Melbourne for the past 5months while we have stayed behind in the states. I am 8 months pregnant and we will be relocating the rest of us (we have 2 boys ages 5 and 6) to Melbourne in May. I have visited my husband on a couple of occassions and I can totally relate to some of your impressions of Australia. It seems it will take a lot of getting used to.

    Anyway, I would love to chat with you via email, so please don’t hesitate to send a message to me there.

    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

