Posted by: dsduffy | January 26, 2009

Why I hugged a box of Cheerios


Seriously, I just hugged it tight, closed my eyes and sighed. Don’t underestimate the power of a box of cereal. Yes, they have Cheerios here in Australia, BUT only onetype, and it is multi-grain. Not a box of Honey Nut, Fruity or even Frosted Cheerios sits on a shelf in Coles (grocery store). The Multi-grain are ok…but it’s just not the same as the good ol’ fashioned yellow box of O’s. Sigh…

Most of the stuff here is fine, I can live without the usual items I have used ALL my life and make do with what they have here, but man what I would give for a box of Aunt Jemima Cinnamon French Toast sticks, sliced Land o’ Lakes American cheese, or a heaping bowl of Honey Nut Cheerios…mmmm.

I didn’t realize how important these comforts of home were to me. You know how when you are meeting someone at a restaurant, and you walk in searching for their face, sometimes that’s how it feels while scanning the shelves, looking for something familiar. And then you spot a purple box with a photo of bran flakes with raisins scattered throughout, only to read the words “Sultana Bran”, nope, not familiar. I miss the ease of reaching for the yellow box, not having to think twice about what’s inside.

I just opened our last box (that came in the boat shipment) the boys and I will cherish each and every O.

Responses

  1. I totally understand the simple pleasures of American foods. I am the same way. After so many years here I have just adapted to the differences in the grocery items available. But when I want to spoil myself, if if I’m making something from an American recipe I often buy things from USA Foods. You may or may not have heard of them. But in the case that you haven’t, they DO stock Honey Nut Cheerios. Granted they are nearly $15 a box… but it is cheaper than shipping them from the US! They are in Melbourne too, which is great for you… not so much for me! 🙂

    http://www.usafoods.com.au/p2101/cereals/cheerios/

    Happy shopping!

  2. Better yet, try this one. http://www.usafoods.com.au/p225/cereals/honey-nut-cheerios/

  3. I understand how you feel. I would feel the same way without my favorite ice creams. You know how you feel when you have that delicious cup of coffee that you love (DD), and then you switch to another brand (flat white) and then before too long, that becomes your favorite .. when you come back to the States you will then have to acquire another taste for your new favorite.;0)
    You are going to find AU foods that you love. You won’t be ordering Kangaroo in MA!
    Love ya

  4. Do they have Dunkin’ Donutes in AU? I don’t think I would be able to live w/o DD coffee (or even the flat bread sandwhiches–although most people think they are gross!)

  5. Oh Elana- I would kill for a dunkin d coffee here– but no such luck. Though the coffee is very good most places here.

    Danielle- I usually get a box shipped to me every couple of months with Cracklin’ Oat Bran cereal, Annie’s Mac n cheese, and other essentials I can’t get here– I order it from Amazon.com, have it shipped to my mom for free with Amazon prime membership, then she sends me a big box– Amazon has every cereal– and they come in packs of 2 or 3 boxes (Costco style).

  6. Been here just over 2 years and boy do I know how just how you feel. I can’t figure out why the original yellow Cheerios aren’t sold here 😦 Thank heavens my little sister is visiting us next month so I am putting together my list of all things American :). Things here just aren’t the same, even when they attempt to replicate it, I’m not particularly impressed. No place like home ay.


Leave a Reply

Categories

