Posted by: dsduffy | January 17, 2009

It’s official: we can stay!


Our visa’s have been approved! After months of dealing with paperwork, doctors visits, x-rays, phone calls, driving on Christmas Eve to the Immigration office to drop off more paperwork, and overall confusion and frustration, it is over and we are clear to live here. Now we can open a bank account (checks! who ever got so excited about getting a checking account?) , get a credit card, and even join the library. Now when I go to the Post to mail things or pick up something, I don’t have to explain why I only have a Massachusetts license, which they pretty much laugh at. I might even get myself an Aussie driver’s license, how cool will that be? (if I pass of course, not so cool if I fail). Yes, everything is coming together, the only missing piece is our kitties, once the transport company receives the permit, then they will be on their way to the land down under.

Responses

  1. Great, now you can cross that off your list of things that give you a headache. I am sure you will all be excited to see PJ & Zoe before too long.

  2. Hi there,

    My family and I have also recently relocated to Melbourne (from Canada) with a little one and are just starting to figure things out. Reading your blog makes me realize I need to be a lot more outgoing . . . and a little less homesick.

    Just to let you know, there is a store here that caters to expats and brings in treats from the States. Their web site is: http://www.usafoods.com.au and they have Goldfish!

    Sam

  3. An Aussie driver’s license and a library card, wow I can’t wait to see your scrapbook when you come back to the US!! I am so glad your visa’s have been approved and that you can continue to enjoy your adventure without added stress.


Leave a Reply

Categories

