Posted by: dsduffy | January 13, 2009

Thank you aircon, thank you


That is what they call it here, aircon. You may refer to it as AC, but whatever you call it, it keeps us cool. I know, I know, you are all freezing your asses off and want me to stop teasing you with my tales of being too hot, but trust me – this is no picnic. We are living in complete opposite climates: while you are bundling up, looking for your other glove, and waiting for your car to warm up, I am sweating my butt off, trying to figure out where to go with the kids indoors, and convincing my brain that 40 degrees celsius is 104 – holy crap! Jake is walking around with rosy cheeks, Cameron told me today it was as hot as a volcano out today, and people are still swimming in the ocean at 9:55pm. Welcome to Australian Summer.

Thankfully, the way our house was designed, the downstairs level stays ultra cool and we only have aircon on the 3rd floor, so it really keeps the upstairs and middle floor nice and cool. We looked at several houses that did not have AC at all….I don’t understand how anyone could stand that.

Anyway, while you are able to bundle up and get cozy by a fire, we are staying indoors or braving  it outside for a few minutes at a time, neither is ideal, but all we can do is make the best of it.

Responses

  1. How cute is that that Cameron says it’s “as hot as a volcano!” That’s REALLY hot! Is Craig still riding his bike to work in the heat? Hopefully, the heat wave will break soon. Hang in there! Love you guys, M.C.

  2. WOW, I had no idea that it get’s that HOT!! Do your best to keep everyone hydrated. Looking for my gloves, I did just that yesterday! I retraced my steps to 2 stores thinking I lost them and they had fallen onto the floor of my car and I did not see my black gloves in the dark!! Guess by 8:30 pm after a full day and evening carpooling around town I was tired and losing my mind while happy to find that I did not lose my gloves, hey I never lose anything!
    It is really bizarre that we are living opposite times and climates. Both staying in for different reasons, reading more books, playing more board games, watching more movies, building more legos, just to stay cool or warm!?!?

  3. I am so glad I was in Florida when it got really hot in Sydney a few weeks ago. I’m hoping for mild summer from here on out. I’m a winter girl.

  4. Hi…

    I’m an American girl married to an Aussie, (ironically, also named Craig), and after three-and-a-half months in Australia (November 2008-March 1, 2009), I’m back “home” in the States trying to figure out if I can really hack it in Oz.

    I came across your blog and wanted you to know how much I appreciate you sharing your experiences and perspectives of Australia. I was in Sydney (a suburb), but I experienced the same joys and frustrations (the opposite-side cars and driving, no aircon, the”how ya going?,” etc.). It makes me feel a little less bad about my reservations and culture shock knowing that I’m not a primadonna…just an American used to a very different way of life.

    I wish you all the best…I’m still working on going through your blog posts, but I’m hoping you are doing well at this point in time.

    Take care…
    V


Leave a Reply

Categories

