Posted by: dsduffy | December 17, 2008

Productive day at the playground


After naptime yesterday, we were just hanging out at home, doing nothing much. So I thought of a few things we could do: walk to the beach playground, go for a bike-ride, and then I decided we could ride “downtown” to get a movie at the video place. So we loaded up on our bikes and off we went. We got “The Polar Express” (great movie!) and I thought on the way back home we could stop at the playground closest to our house. I totally forgot that it was Wednesday afternoon, which is when a playgroup that I wanted to join meets there. I had been emailing with this woman, let’s call her Jane, about meeting up, but I was never able to make it for one reason or another.  When we got there, 3 other moms were chatting and their kids were playing: about 5 girls and only 1 other boy. I got to talking with the boy’s mom and found out that he is in Cameron’s kindergarten class. Then this mom told me that they usually meet here on Wednesdays for playgroup, which led me to tell her I had been emailing with a woman named Jane about a playgroup, and this mom pointed over and said – “That’s Jane right over there!” I guess it is not such a coincidence, but the fact that I didn’t realize it was Wednesday afternoon (didn’t put two & two together, I know what day it is) it just felt like one of those “small world” moments.

Also: I got a call from the daycare the boys are at and they are able to take Jake on Wednesdays & Fridays starting January – 2 days off for me, I’m going to have to get a job!!

Responses

  1. I am so glad you are enjoying your new bike and that you are able to just get up and go with a 4 year old riding next to you on his bike, you are brave! The boys just watched Polar Express again, they liked it too. Your playground experiences are always interesting, now you have just added another activity and some more future mommy friends.

    Exciting that Jake will be in daycare 2 days, I bet he likes playing with the other kids. You definitely deserve the time off for yourself! I can’t imagine what you will do next!?!? Take time to research your next weekend mini vacation? Maybe get a project writing a column for the AU newspaper? Plan your next marathon? The list goes on…! Love ya, Stephanie

  2. I say – xnay on the jobay – do you really want to spend your precious free time holed up in some office??

    Patti


Leave a Reply

Categories

