Posted by: dsduffy | December 13, 2008

Eleven


I can remember it so clearly now, I was spending the weekend at the Duffy’s in Brick, NJ – your Uncle Craig and I weren’t even engaged yet. I got a call from my dad, your Pa, on Friday night, December 12th, telling me that your mom was in labor, but that it would be a long night, so I should stay there and he would call me in the morning. How could I sleep? I tossed and turned all night thinking about my sister and the wonderful life that was about to join our family. Early in the morning, I spoke to Pa again, he said it’s getting close – I should make my way to the hospital. I was physically shaking, fidgety as my future mother-in-law made me a quick breakfast and sent me off with good wishes & a mug of coffee. I drove the hour and a half by myself – the roads were quiet, it was so early on a Saturday morning. As I was driving, every song on the radio made me cry, I can’t remember exactly what they were, but each one seemed to fit my mood perfectly at that moment. I drove right to the hospital and I swear it was like a scene out of a movie: I parked, found your room and ran in minutes after your arrival – I remember walking into the room, seeing your mom, my older sister,  on the bed holding a tiny bundle in her arms. You were the first newborn I had ever seen – literally moments after you were born. And being only 23 and fresh out of college, I was so clueless to life as I know it now – but at that moment, I learned what it felt like to love someone I didn’t even know yet. You were part of me too, we share the same genes and I felt an instant connection to you.

It’s eleven years later, and you’ve turned into quite a smart, determined, funny, caring, thoughtful, strong, athletic and loveable boy. Your a great big brother to Jared & you have 2 little cousins who look up to you and think you are the coolest kid around. Your Uncle Craig and I are so proud of you and miss you a lot. My sweet Jason Logan, Happy Birthday! We love you! You know if we could be with you to celebrate, we would!

Responses

  1. Thank you for writing this Aunt Dan! This is the first time I am hearing this story and it has touched me and made me miss you more!! I am so lucky to have you as my Aunt, Uncle Craig as my uncle and Cameron and Jake as my first best cousins in my life. Thank you for dedicating this birthday blog to me, it is very special. I love you too, Jason Logan 🙂

  2. So, it took me 2 days to finally be able to reply to this beautifully written story of the memories of the day my first son was born! You became an Aunt before I did, and I must agree that I felt the same way the day I became an Aunt too. There is something very unique about being an Aunt to my nephews.

    It is stories like this one that bring all of the emotions back like it was just yesterday, and now it is 11 years later, time sure does fly, and reminds us to enjoy each day! I’ll say it again, Jason is so very lucky to have you as his Aunt, you have so much to share with him. The more we read your blog, the more we learn, the more we grow, and the more we miss you!

    The list of qualities that you see in Jason as an 11 year old boy is amazing, and now after reading your blog you can add sensitive to that list! As he read the words that you wrote, it touched a part of him that he never experienced, and this is all part of growing up.

    If you were to write a birthday blog about mommy today, 2 days after Jason’s, I am not sure that I could emotionally handle it all. Thank you for sharing your memories and for all that you are!

    Love you lots, Stephanie


Leave a Reply

Categories

