Posted by: dsduffy | December 11, 2008

On the other side of the world


There are times when I don’t even feel like I am over 10,000 miles away from…what?.. from home, my family, my friends, the life I have always known. There are things that are similar, and my mind is tricked into thinking this is still America. Look – there’s a Coke sign across the street! Oooh – there’s a Jeep! – See? Oprah’s on! But then, BAM – the steering wheel is over there – and they are saying “How ya going?” – and it’s 85 degrees in DECEMBER! It is such a mind game, I am finding. I am going about my everyday life – we have our routines down pat, we know what shows are on what channels and when (for the kids at least), we have activities planned for the day. We know where we are going – don’t even need the GPS to get to the grocery store or the gas station anymore. And I have friends who I can call to get together with. But still, I am ALL THE WAY OVER HERE. FAR FAR FAR away from my family and I don’t own a car anymore, and I am not able to meet the babies my friends are having, and I am missing out on holidays with my family and just, just, I wish my family could see these sunsets!

Such mixed feelings, being all the way, way far away from home. Wonderful experience, blah blah bladdy-blah blah. But on the other hand? Sometimes? I wish we weren’t that far away.

Responses

  1. I know, I know, I know. But, then again, if you think of someone you know and love, and they were given the opportunity that you guys have, you would be thrilled for them. I know you would. So, yes, we can’t reach out and physically hug each other, but we are all so connected with you. So close your eyes and feel the love, hugs & kisses we send to all of you, all the time. How lucky we are to just pick up the phone and call you and talk as long as we want with Vonage, and see you on the webcam when possible. Take in all that Au has to offer during your adventure, becuase we are right there with you. Lots of love, hugs & kisses, Mom

  2. Well, Honey, we all knew this time of year was going to be tough on all of us, but it’s only temporary. Before you know it, you’ll be back in the good ol’ USA with us & wondering why it’s so freezing cold in December. At least you have this venue to express your feelings, which we so appreciate. (I wish Craig would contribute to your blog once in a while, too.) I remember one year we all went to Barbados for Christmas and Santa Claus was riding around in a pink Cadillac convertible … it was so cool! It’ll be fun for you all to see how the Aussie’s celebrate the holidays. So please remember that although we’re not physically together, we will ALWAYS be together in spirit. AND it won’t be long until Gramps & I are over there to enjoy those magnificent sunsets with you! All my love, Mamacita (Grammy)

  3. Now, your mom’s stuff is making me all teary. What is it with you people? (Thanks, Lois!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

