Posted by: dsduffy | December 1, 2008

I spent the evening with Billy Joel, in New York.


Not everyone knows this, but I am head over heels for Billy Joel. And he was in Melbourne! Imagine that!
It was A M A Z I N G . I can’t say enough how amazing it was. To see him on stage, sitting at the piano, hearing his voice – just amazing. He mentioned New York & even New Jersey a few times, made me feel at home.  But one thing we did notice, the Aussie’s are pretty tame. Not a lot of crowds milling around the arena, no big long lines for beer, it was just very organized. Even the line for the bathroom, was non-existent. The way he is doing this concert, he talks in between each song, tells a little about the next song, tells a few jokes, it is very personal — but for me, it was so nice to hear his accent. The true New Yorker. It felt like home. A few tears welled up in my eyes hearing “Only the Good Die Young” for obvious reasons, but besides that it was all smiles, singing and dancing in my seat. Thanks, Billy, for a wonderful evening.

Responses

  1. We saw him last year in Phil – same type of show – I sang every song!! Glad you had a great time!

    Love,
    Patti

  2. I love Billy Joel too! Glad you got to see him. We saw him here in Melbourne 2 years ago. It was a great concert, but no one gets up to dance or anything. Very tame crowds–you’re right.


Leave a Reply

Categories

