Posted by: dsduffy | November 25, 2008

Hunting for a turkey & Post-party thoughts


Not with a gun or anything, but by Wednesday I am determined to get us a turkey to cook this weekend. I did see turkey breast at the store, but not a whole turkey. I’ll do the best I can to find as many things as I can: stuffing, cranberry sauce, green beans, gravy (I can make my own). We will do our best to make as authentic a Thanksgiving dinner as possible.

It will be just the 4 of us for thanksgiving dinner on Saturday, unless we can round up some of Craig’s coworkers who are brave enough 🙂

Cameron’s 4th birthday party was a success! Never would I have imagined that we would be able to pack our house so full of people, all for my little boy. We’ve only been in this country for 2 months, but we had 10 kids and 21 adults here to celebrate, it was completely different from what I have imagined 3 months ago, lying awake at night worried that we wouldn’t be able to have a birthday party for Cameron because we wouldn’t know anyone. It fills my heart with joy to know that we have met such great people who made this day so special. Don’t get me wrong, it was SO hard to look around and not see the faces of grandparents, cousins, aunts and uncles. We’ll just have to wait a few more years and have an even bigger party back home.

Responses

  1. Another American expat here! Hope your Turkey Day is a success. I just hosted a Thanksgiving dinner at my house on the weekend for some of my fellow American expat friends. You should be able to get a whole turkey at Coles or Wollies, but they will be expensive. Otherwise many butchers have them. In terms of the other “fixins” you might try USA Foods for some cranberry sauce, etc. Good luck! Glad to have found your blog on expat blogs!

  2. Here are my tips for finding your Thanksgiving goodies–like Erin mentioned Coles or Safeway/Woolworth’s will have a whole turkey. I saw whole turkeys advertised in the Safeway ad for this week, so they should be there. Otherwise as Erin said, try a butcher–that’s where I always get mine. I’ve found Cranberry sauce in the bottle at Safeway as well. It’s on the sauce aisle–where you’d find the ketchup–and it’s Ocean Spray brand. I get my pumpkin puree from USA Foods or David Jones sometimes has some in their food section (although I haven’t looked there in ages). Also the stuffing you can get at USA Foods (if they haven’t sold out). Good luck! Hope it goes well. =)

  3. I am so glad that Cameron had such a fun party!!!! Happy 4th Birthday, Cameron! What memories from your first Australian birthday! We wish we could have been there to celebrate with you, but glad you had such a crowd for your little guy. I’m sure he had a blast. Spiderman theme, perhaps?
    You have so much to be thankful for…don’t be sad about a turkey! Think of all that you have and are experiencing on this adventure and be thankful for that. Also, for those adorable boys!
    Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. Yes, you have certainly assembled quite an array of friends in a very short time. Glad those Aussies & expats recognize what a fantastic, fun family you are! Hope you’re able to collect everything you need for your Australian Thanksgiving dinner. We will miss you dearly on Thursday, but will certainly be thinking of you all & sending our love. The photos from Cameron’s party are wonderful …. looks like everyone had a great time …. even Sparkles! Enjoy! Love you, Mamacita Carol

  5. You have made so many friends in such a short time. Wow…you are really amazing. Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner (on Saturday)–I am sure you will find everything that you need and it will be fabulous! Don’t forget the apple pie!


Leave a Reply

Categories

