Posted by: dsduffy | November 15, 2008

Saturday 15 Nov


We got the letter, saying our personal items would be arriving today, arriving to the Port, not necessarily arriving to us. I have looked out the window, wondering if I will see the boat, oh wait — is that it? And then, will it really arrive today? I still have to wait 2 more weeks for it all to go through customs, etc. I have been without all this “stuff” for more than 2 months, do I really even need/want/have room for it all?

Today is 2 months since we have arrived ourselves. 2 months since we got off that plane, started driving on the left, started living so god-damn far away. 2 months, and so much has happened, I already am pretty much used to driving on the left, except for getting into the car on the wrong side, I really don’t even think about it anymore. It feels like a lifetime ago when we were in Massachusetts, deciding what we would need and what would be put in storage while we are here. I think about the inanimate objects, I miss my couch, oh and my flat iron! I know my sister is taking good care of that for me. Did I pack all those toys? Where are we going to put it all?!?

2 months, and I feel like Jake has changed so much already, even Craig noticed how much more he is talking and he was only gone for 3 days. Cameron has gotten taller, and has even slipped some Aussie terms into his vocabulary. Already – in only 2 months. And then I think about my kitties, and how they still have 2 more months until they can join us. 2 months feels like a long time already, I can’t imagine how 2-3 years will feel.

Leave a Reply

Categories

