Posted by: dsduffy | November 5, 2008

My 2 cents, not worth much


Today being Election Day in the United States, I have to put in my 2 cents. I don’t care who anyone votes for, just that they vote. Here in Australia? It is mandatory that everyone votes. If you don’t, you get fined. Why don’t they do that in America? Probably because people would find some reason to complain about that too, too much goverment involvment or something. But everyone SHOULD have to vote. It is your right.

On another note: the Target here SUCKS. I went there to get party supplies for Cameron’s 4th birthday, and the selection (range) was terrible. They had 1st birthday, Thomas the Train, and Shrek. NO Spiderman. I was able to find a Party Supply store close by, but that meant I had to get back in the car, park again, etc. Just annoying. I miss my old Target. Sniff sniff.

Congrats to my good friends on their new baby boy, one benefit to being 16 hours ahead? They were able to call and tell us the good news, at 4:30am their time. Now I just wish I could see them and meet the little guy.

Responses

  1. Voting is our right as Americans. I agree with you!
    If you can’t find the spiderman party stuff you want, let me know and I will mail it to you. Plenty of Spiderman in NJ! ;0)

  2. Those Aussies are strict about everything it seems! I was thinking the same thing as your Mom! If you can’t find Spiderman stuff for Cameron’s party, I’d be glad to ship it over, too. Anything you need, just let us know. Love you! Mamacita

  3. Have you tried Sparty’s? They have stand alone stores and they also have little sections within Spotlight stores. Spotlight is a fabric and craft store if you haven’t come across it yet. I think there is a new one in South Melbourne somewhere (I get the impression you are in that area somewhere). You can google them and find their store locations and hours and which ones have the sparty’s inside of them. Also, Lombards is another big party, paper supply store. These bigger chains seem to have more selection, but you are never going to find one stop shopping like the Targets in the USA. Sad but true. Spiderman stuff does exist here because I went to a party recently that was Spiderman themed. So I know it’s out there. Good luck! Let me know if you need help finding anything else.

  4. Target does suck here. Sometimes I feel I have to go to about 5 stores to find something so common, it’s weird. I’d try buying the stuff on ebay?


Leave a Reply

Categories

