Posted by: dsduffy | October 28, 2008

Accepted!


I feel like Cameron got accepted to Harvard or something! I got a call this afternoon from one of the kindergarten’s he was on the waiting list at, with news that he has been accepted! Which really only means that some other kids on the waiting list decided to go somewhere else, so now there is room for him. That’s the way it is here, every school has a waiting list, and everyone puts their kid on multiple lists, which is very frustrating, especially when you hear that your kid is #40 on the list! But not anymore! We are in!  He starts at the end of January: that is whent he term begins. But now I can breathe a sigh of relief, I will not have to stock up on homeschooling textbooks afterall. (whew!)

—–

In other news, we are all back together again, Craig returned from his Boston trip & we were all so excited to see each other. Jake couldn’t give him enough hugs, saying “dayeeeee”, while Cameron was shooting him with webs from his new Spiderman gloves, welcome home!

—–

Cameron & I had our first “homesick” moment: I took them to the zoo on Saturday morning, and while walking down the main path on the way to see the meerkats, it was a particulary quiet moment with no one else around. In the grassy area to our right, 2 kids came running full-speed towards what appeared to be their grandparents. The little girl ran into her grandmother’s arms while the younger boy was scooped up by the grandfather. I was watching this exchange and noticed that Cameron saw too – he let go of my hand and grabbed onto my leg. We didn’t have to say a word, we were both thinking the same thing. I stopped walking and picked him up and told him how much I love him. I said “I know, sweetie, I miss them all too.” It was a bittersweet moment, seeing the joy this family had being together, and knowing that we have to wait quite a while to feel the same way.

Responses

  1. Congrats on getting Cameron into school. Can’t believe you have to wait until the end of January though. And again, I am crying while reading your blog. Wish you guys didn’t need to be so far away.

  2. Congrats on the Kinder place. That’s a huge hurdle under your belt. If your other son is younger and you plan on being here for a few years, you should put his name on the list now for the future (if you haven’t already done so that is). Waiting lists are a big deal here and it’s been my experience that you can’t get in too early. Most of the time, things seem to work out as it has in your case, but getting in early gives you a bit of breathing room and makes the process a bit less stressful.

  3. I am very excited that Cameron has been “accepted” in school. They will be very happy with him in their class. He loves kids and will be eager to learn..and I bet he can teach them a thing or two as well. So, now that I read about your zoo time, I guess I can stop crying and go eat some ice cream…

  4. Crying again…why do you always do this to me?!

  5. Seriously, you make me all teary just like ER.

  6. You KNOW how much we miss you, too. I would give anything to be able to hug you all. Hope it works out for us to come for a visit in February. I’ll be counting down the days until WE can scoop up those little boys! Love you all! Grammy

  7. We miss you too. As to eggs; untill refrigeration was invented they were typically kept in the cupboard or in a basket on the counter. They would last for days if not weeks. Don’t forget, chickens don’t have ice cubes up their whatever.

  8. Wow, this just totally made me cry. I’ve had the same type of moments.

    My older child also just got in to Kindergarten at school we applied to– starting in January.
    It’s such a relief when you get all that stuff sorted, it’s huge!

  9. Hi Danielle:
    Just caught up with all you’ve written over the past few months and was totally overwhelmed with all that you and Craig have accomplished in the short time that you had to make this move.
    We congratulate you both on this overwhelming achievement. We are so happy that you are making friends and assimilating so nicely and that Cameron has been accepted into school starting January. Your blogs are wonderful to read and we hope you continue to do so throughout your journey in Melbourne.

    Cheers!

    Fran and Sid


Leave a Reply

Categories

