Posted by: dsduffy | October 20, 2008

Finding beauty in the day-to-day life


We can all see beauty in mountains, a crystal blue ocean, in the face on a magazine, a painting on a wall. But finding it in your everyday life, just taking that extra second to see things, instead of rushing past them, in a hurry to get someplace. It has taken me moving to the other side of the world to pare down my life, take away all the stuff that clutters and takes up space, to see more beauty in the world. I have been forced to live simpler, simply because our things are not here yet. And I like it this way.

I have found that I am seeing things differently. Stopping to smell the roses, if you will. Looking forward to 7:40pm, when the sun sets. Each night I am amazed at the beautiful colors in the sky, each night different from the one before. Finding myself not even turning on the television, but rather, looking out the window to watch the windsurfers and the kite surfers. Watching the sailboat races on Wednesdays and Saturdays. Laughing at the dog swimming in the water, chasing a ball on the sand. Each day, knowing that if we have nothing planned, that we always have the beach to play on, that a shovel, a bucket and a hunt for shells is a great way to spend an afternoon. Even though our “stuff” isn’t here, our schedule is not the same, and we are just plain removed from all that we have ever known, I find myself happy and content in this strangeland I now call home (temporarily).

Responses

  1. The boys are learning wonderful, valuable life lessons by appreciating the beauty in life along with you. Keep it up! You’re doing great! Enjoy! Love, M.C.

  2. Welcome to the Australian way of life!


Leave a Reply

Categories

