Posted by: dsduffy | October 19, 2008

Going it alone…sort of.


It is a strange feeling, and I didn’t even realize it until last night, that I am all alone here with my 2 boys. All by myself in this huge country, far far away from everyone and everything I know. Craig had to go back to Boston for a convention, that we knew about before we moved. I have been without him before, in MA, but not here. And it took me almost 3 days to realize how strange it is, that we are aalllll the way down here, and he is back “home” without us. It must feel weird for him too though, to be back there, and not have us, the house, our stuff.

Thankfully I am resourceful and find things to keep us busy. For example: Saturday was a gorgeous day so we went to the beach, then went home cleaned up and out for dinner (not a big deal but the first time I had the boys in the water at the beach by myself) and today was the World’s Greatest Pram Stroll at Albert Park – we walked around the Albert Park Lake (5km) with a whole bunch of other mums/dads/kids, it was a lot of fun. Then this afternoon we went to a friend’s house for a playdate and then stayed for dinner. The kids had a blast, and it was a good way to end the weekend. This week I plan on hitting the Zoo and maybe the Aquarium again. If I am able to get a babysitter, I might even get to go for a Girl’s Night Out (which is much-needed!)

So, I’m not ALONE. I have my boys, I have met a few people, and thankfully there is the internet to help keep me “connected”.

Responses

  1. I’m dying to know..
    are you here permanently?
    how long have you been here?
    why are you here?


Leave a Reply

Categories

