Posted by: dsduffy | October 10, 2008

Scientists: Please work on Teleportation!


I am sure there are scientists out there working on it, but can’t they work faster? How many times have you sat in a car, in dead-stopped traffic, or sat in an airport terminal chair, feelings of despair and frustration filling your mind after hearing your flight has been delayed, thinking to yourself: “isn’t there a better way???” This is how I imagine it: There is a Teleportation Center in every major town/city. You walk into the center, step on the big red circle, punch in the address you want to go to on the keypad, wait as the glass tube comes down from the ceiling over you, close your eyes, hold your breath, and within 30 seconds, pow! You are at your desired location. Maybe it is your sister’s 39th birthday, or your good friend just got had a baby, or you have a craving for a certain dish from this great little restaurant in Paris. It has to be in our future, right?

I finally was able to see my sister & her family on the webcam today, and don’t get me wrong, I am so thankful that we at least have that technology, so Jetsons-like. But it sort of feels like being in jail, where you have that big thick piece of glass between you (NO, I have never been to jail, haven’t we all seen that in the movies?) It is great to be able to see each other, and I took my laptop around to give them the tour of the house. But nothing in the world can take the place of a hug, or of sitting around the kitchen table over some Land’o Lakes cheese, or just watching the boys play together in the backyard. The dream of teleporting myself to special family events will stay in my mind, but all I can do now is continue to webcam, email & call, until we can be together again.

Responses

  1. That’s exactly how I imagine teleportation, too! Wouldn’t it be amazing if we could get to Melbourne in 30 seconds instead of the 23 hours it will take us ….. but we ARE going to do it. We’ll be seeing you all in 3 – 4 months, so hang in there, Sweetie. We love you and miss you, too.
    Hugs, M.C.

  2. Wow, you have thought of everything!! Teleportation would be much better; I am good on the phone but the webcam makes me fall apart! I loved seeing you and the boys and getting a tour of your house, however it makes me emotional. Trying to pretend that you are still in MA doesn’t work for me. Thank you for always being so thoughtful and for celebrating the last year of my 30’s with me in such a special way, I will always remember it!! I love you my sister, “stylin” Stephanie xoxoxoxo

  3. Sign me up! Your teleportation center sounds wonderful and would make life in the Marine Corps much, much easier. I have gotten used to the moving around every few years but I still miss my family all the time. Glad to hear you are adjusting to life ‘down under’. Take care and enjoy every minute!

  4. you practically made me cry reading this passage. I just pictured you and Stephani talking via the computer and I got emotional…what is wrong with me?! Anyway, I can’t wait to chat with you again–we are 15 hours apart–right. I will call again soon. No tears I promise.

  5. I love your blog– I’m adding you to my blogroll right now.
    I feel like we’re living parallel lives.


Leave a Reply

Categories

