Posted by: dsduffy | October 5, 2008

Big hug to Vonage, Cameron’s bike & what I didn’t pack


Thanks to Vonage, we were able to keep our home number from Massachusetts and have it here. I know, I still do not really understand it fully, but it works and that is all that matters. So we have our Australian home phone, and the Bat phone (red, Cameron’s favorite color) The only problem so far is the telemarketers, etc that call in our middle of the night. I guess I have to turn the ringer off before i go to bed at night and remember to put it back on in the morning. I can deal with that.
Being able to talk to my family & friends has been awesome. And knowing that it is basically free, that helps too. So Thank You Vonage!

We got our air shipment delievered yesterday. Jake and I were sitting on the steps watching the delivery men bring in box after box, while Cameron was jumping around, asking “Where’s my bike, is it in this box?” and “Where’s my helmet mom, did you find it yet?” He was like a Mexican Jumping Bean (remember those?) it was so cute. When the men were done bringing everything in and I signed off on the sheet, we went to work – opening boxes, tearing paper off bikes, it was like Christmas morning with things you already own. The best part was when I found Cameron’s helmet – he hugged it, saying My helment! My helmet!, eyes closed tight, with the biggest smile on his face. It was so sweet. We had our plan in place – I would put the wheels on the jogging stroller, Cameron would get all ready with his helmet & knee/elbow pads and we would go for our first official bike ride along the water. This did not go very well. I got the stroller all put together, Jake strapped in, sippy cups in place, door opened and there it was – rain. Cameron & I decided it wasn’t raining hard enough to stop us, so off we went. Until Cameron crashed. Apparently they had to loosen the front handle bars/wheel in order to pack it and I didn’t know this. Needless to say, he was fine, but upset that we couldn’t go for a quick ride, he would have to wait for daddy to come home and tighten it up (I have no idea how to do this, I guess I should learn though?) Things don’t always go as planned…

What I didn’t pack: Goldfish (I swear I did, where are they?) Cheerios (I bought 2 huge boxes, where are they?) hair brush, more than 2 pots/pans, pot holders, toothpaste (I know I can buy it here, but I bought a 6pack at BJ’s) MORE TOYS – what was I thinking?!?!?!
But anyway, we are fine and happy with what we have. At least I packed some shoes for myself, my feet are happy about that. And books for the boys, they are thrilled with the wider selection of books in the house. Guess we’ll have to wait 2-3-4 months for the sea freight to arrive…to see what else I didn’t pack!

Leave a Reply

Categories

