Posted by: dsduffy | September 30, 2008

I’ll believe it when I see it:


The air shipment. The items we set aside in our living room in MA to be sent before we left, to be here when we arrived, or a few days thereafter. The 2 huge boxes of diapers, about 75 books, 2 bins of toys, sheets, towels, pillows, essential kitchen items, sippy cups, and so on and so on. Supposedly, we will receive it. According the the latest email: “The shipment for Mr. Duffy did arrive into Melbourne. The cargo is going through the quarantine inspection tomorrow. Once completed, the delivery will be scheduled.” Mind you, we have been here for over 2 weeks, which means the items were sent over 3 weeks ago. I will not hold my breath for the phone call to schedule the delivery.

Am I being unreasonable to be a little ticked off that it hasn’t arrived yet? Go with the flow, right? Wear the same 2 pairs of shoes for 2 weeks, squeeze the last drop of shampoo out of the trial size bottle, then add water the next day when it’s empty, or just go out and buy more, even though you have a brand new bottle of Pantene in the shipment that is sitting who knows where.

Ok, enough ranting about that. I am off to figure out how to get Jake’s passport photo taken. He is not a sit-still kind of kid. Why do we need a passport photo you ask? For the Visa – which has not gone through yet. But I’m not going to get into that.

—-
ps: Thanks mom for updaing everyone while I was offline…you always come through for me! And I knew you would enjoy it πŸ™‚ Now you can start your own blog, “Bubbie’s Blog” . Love ya lady!

Responses

  1. I’m optimistic that you will have your “stuff” within the next few days. At least you know it’s in the country! That’s more than we can say about the birthday card we sent Craig that still hasn’t shown up! Hang in there, Sweetie!

  2. Hi, I’m discovering your blog and I’m living the same experience, I’m French but I was living in Boston (for 3 years), and moved to melbourne in Sept. Even though we have 2 kids too, our experience is quite different than yours… good luck with your shipment!


Leave a Reply

Categories

