Posted by: dsduffy | September 15, 2008

Greetings, from down under!


Whew…we made it! It was not as bad as I had imagined, but I won’t be getting on an airplane with Jake again anytime soon. The flight from Boston to LA was bad. And when I say bad, I mean I honestly think Jake was possessed by the devil. We gave him Benadryl and it was either that or he was super tired, but he cried and screamed for more than half the flight. Thankfully the lady sitting in front of him didn’t mind all the kicking and screaming. Cameron was great and even slept a bit. So that was the worst of it, I am thankful that Jake was 100% better on the flight to AU, he slept for 11 of the 15 hours, so I can’t complain about that.

When we were in LA, we took a trip to Disneyland, which was a lot of fun. We got free tickets (thanks to Craig’s good friend) and spent a good part of the day there. Jake fell asleep in his stroller (first time since he was a baby, he’s one of those kids that only sleeps in his crib). Cameron went on Space Mountain and a few other rides with Craig and I got talked into going on The Pirates of the Carribean ride. For those of you who know me, rides are not my thing….I think I scarred Jake for life by my reaction to the 2 “drops” … yes, Jake went on it too, and I was the scared one.

We are staying in our temporary house in Richmond, which is a cute town, with tons of shops restaurants and cafes, until all our furniture arrives in the house. We spent yesterday at Ikea picking up a few things for and already got the keys to our place. We’ll probably make a trip over there today to show the boys.

All in all things are going well, except for the fact that Cameron woke up at 2:30am saying he was starving… but that is probably because the boys went in for naps at 3pm and didn’t wake up until then…l gave them a quick snack and put them back in and we all slept until 5:30am. Hopefully we will be back on schedule in a day or two. I will check back soon & will try to upload some pictures as well. I just have to find the cables for my camera.

The best things so far: our hire car (rental) is a Toyota minivan, the people are really nice, I saw Cheerios at the grocery store, the plane ride is over.

Things I can’t find in the suitcases: Jake’s socks, any warm clothes for me, cable for camera, Jake’s elmo doll that he sleeps with.

Things I miss already: family & friends, my cell phone, Dunkin Donuts, safety gates, Tivo.

Responses

  1. So glad you made it there in relatively one piece! We miss you already and look forward to hearing all about your adventures. I can’t wait to see pictures. I’ve always wanted to go to AU. Yay for Cheerios and minivans!!! 🙂

  2. OK, so if you are down under, does that mean we are “up over”? Now you have to find the “fishies” for Jake & Cameron. Do they have the kind of
    Be-Bo that Jake likes or will he be giving that up now that he has relocated? Can’t wait to hear that you have moved into your final temporary home and that the gates are up and all is well. We love you all and are learning to figure out the time change much faster now! ;0)
    Love, Mommy


Leave a Reply

Categories

