Posted by: dsduffy | July 27, 2008

Disconnected?


When we went to Melbourne in June to check it out, we left the boys back home in NJ with their grandparents. I thought we would be able to webcam with them often – every few days or so. We did twice, but then my mom told me that Cameron got upset afterwards, saying he wanted to go home and that he missed us. So we didn’t webcam again, we didn’t want him to be sad and make it difficult for our parents, having to deal with that. Outta sight, outta mind, right? So that was really hard, not being able to see them, and when we spoke on the phone, he didn’t really want to talk. I understood and didn’t pressure him to talk to me, but still — I missed those boys more than I could have imagined. We had a short window of time that we could call home, in the morning and at night, which are the busiest times of day with kids.
I felt a bit disconnected during our stay there, mostly because I was away from my kids, but the time difference really affected me. I wasn’t able to just call my sister whenever I felt like it…which some days, is often! Being halfway around the world, I don’t know how it will feel, I have a bit of an idea after spending 2 weeks there, but I don’t know how it will be after a few months. I hope I don’t feel too disconnected.

Leave a Reply

Categories

